Skip to product information
1 of 1

A Fire Born of Exile

A beautiful standalone science fiction romance perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and Ann Leckie
  • Author
    • Aliette de Bodard
Format
Regular price £22.00
Regular price Sale price £22.00

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
  • Published: Oct 12 2023
  • 238 x 158mm
  • ISBN: 9781473223431
The Scattered Pearls Belt is a string of habitats under tight military rule . . . where the powerful have become all too comfortable in their positions, and their corruption. But change is coming, with the arrival of Quynh: the mysterious and enigmatic Alchemist of Streams and Hills.

To Minh, daughter of the ruling prefect of the Belt , Quynh represents a chance for escape. To Hoà, a destitute engineer, Quynh has a mysterious link to her own past . . . and holds a deeper, more sensual appeal. But Quynh has her own secret history, and a plan for the ruling class of the Belt. A plan that will tear open old wounds, shake the heavens, and may well consume her.

A beautiful exploration of the power of love, of revenge, and of the wounds of the past, this fast-paced, heart-warming space opera is set against a backdrop of corruption, power and political scheming in the far reaches of the award-winning Xuya universe.
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Publishers Weekly Starred Review

    Touching sci-fi romance that will delight fans and new readers alike
  • Locus
    A Fire Born of Exile opens with a riot and doesn't let up from there. Poisonings, intrigue, terrible secrets and tense confrontations combine in a tense, accomplished space opera, told with de Bodard's usual vividness and verve
  • New York Times
    Incredible . . . This is a world of dizzying tech, gorgeous illusions and twisty political thrills - catnip for readers who enjoyed Ann Leckie's Imperial Radch trilogy or Jacqueline Koyanagi's Ascension