Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Garden of Empire

A sweeping fantasy epic full of magic, secrets and war
  • Author
    • J.T. Greathouse
Format
Regular price £9.99
Regular price Sale price £9.99

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
  • Published: May 18 2023
  • 198 x 130mm
  • ISBN: 9781473232938
WAR MAKES MONSTERS OF EVERYONE.

Foolish Cur, once named Wen Alder, finds that his allies in the rebellion might cross any line if it means freedom from the Empire. But he can't overcome a foe as strong as Emperor Tenet alone.

REBELLION HAS UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES.

Koro Ha, Foolish Cur's former tutor, discovers the Empire is not so forgiving of those who raise a traitor. And their suspicion may cost him and his people more than he can imagine.

THE GODS ARE LURKING IN THE SHADOWS.

As war against the Empire rages, Foolish Cur knows there is a greater threat. The emperor plans his own coup against the gods, and they will wreak destruction if he tries. To stop him, Foolish Cur might have to risk everything - and resort to ancient magics that could tear the world apart.

This is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Shelley Parker-Chan.

Readers can't get enough of The Garden of Empire:

'This book is a complete package of beautiful prose, well written characters, well explained magic with good battle scenes and immersive world-building' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'A gripping, riveting, highly entertaining, well plotted, and well told story. A page turner that kept me hooked. A story which is epic and intimate and the same time. Loved it, loved it, loved it' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'The plot was amazing. It kept me engaging and there was not even a small moment throughout the book when I didn't enjoy it. It had a huge twist in the story that I didn't see coming. The themes of rebellion, war and its consequences, leadership, betrayals, family, friendship, duties, power are employed very well' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'We are treated to rich characterization, vivid description, a believable lush world, amazing magic, and wrenching moral conflicts' Goodreads review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'A thrilling sequel to The Hand of the Sun King. The magic system is still one of the most unique I've read' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Magic in this series feels like a magic of an old style. While I love some of the more mechanistic descriptions of magic in some modern books, I love the way magic is more of an art than a science' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'This focus on wider, ancient powers is elegant and vividly described, the increasing complexity was cleverly integrated and really opens the plot up to something that I think, come the third book, could be utterly shattering' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Under the Rader SFF Books
    There were several scenes which left me in complete shock while the slow build up kept me sweating like a tea kettle waiting to scream . . . Wild twists and shocking revelations will leave you begging for the finale
  • Fantasy Book Nerd
    J.T. Greathouse writes fantastically rich and complex characters . . . the prose remains both rich and elegant. The plot is masterfully executed . . . The Garden of Empire is simply an absolutely amazing piece of fantasy fiction
  • The Quill to Live
    Some lines took my breath away or sent shivers up and down my spine because of the delivery. I adored it immensely
  • The Bibliophile Chronicles
    An incredibly fascinating fantasy tale, with a few twists I definitely did not see coming
  • Grimdark Magazine
    Superb and on par with the finest moments I've read in SFF so far this year . . . I'm all-in for the final novel in this series
  • Al Alhambra Book Reviews
    The characters are the strongest point in this book, and J.T does a brilliant job of showcasing these characters. Honestly, it's a great sequel, and I really recommend it!
  • SFF World
    A worthy read for those who like their fantasy epic. I think it is one of the best fantasy series I have read
  • The Fantasy Hive
    Broader in scope, seeped in electrifying magic and topped with a heart stopping finale, this is a sequel not to be missed
  • FanFiAddict
    The Garden of Empire is a great novel, it's quite the novel indeed . . . I really recommend it!
  • The Reading Notions
    This book is a complete package of beautiful prose, well written characters , well explained magic with good battle scenes and immersive world-building