The Garden of Empire

Book Two

WAR MAKES MONSTERS OF EVERYONE.

Foolish Cur, once named Wen Alder, finds that his allies in the rebellion might cross any line if it means freedom from the Empire. But he can't overcome a foe as strong as Emperor Tenet alone.

REBELLION HAS UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES.

Koro Ha, Foolish Cur's former tutor, discovers the Empire is not so forgiving of those who raise a traitor. And their suspicion may cost him and his people more than he can imagine.

THE GODS ARE LURKING IN THE SHADOWS.

As war against the Empire rages, Foolish Cur knows there is a greater threat. The emperor plans his own coup against the gods, and they will wreak destruction if he tries. To stop him, Foolish Cur might have to risk everything - and resort to ancient magics that could tear the world apart.

The sequel to the spectacular The Hand of the Sun King, filled to the brim with magic and the cruel consequences of war. This is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Shelley Parker-Chan.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

'A captivating epic of conflicted loyalties and dangerous ambition' Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author, on The Hand of the Sun King

'Brilliantly told and immediately engrossing' Andrea Stewart, critically acclaimed author of The Bone Shard Daughter, on The Hand of the Sun King

'I'm so glad I began this series as it's quickly become a new favourite thanks to the beautiful prose and complex characters' Netgalley reviewer, Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Themes of war, injustice, the blurred lines between right or wrong were deeply embedded into this narrative . . . J. T. Greathouse's prose felt beautiful and balanced through the whole novel . . . A bright path has been set out for the third and final instalment' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'The magic and witches featured in this book are unlike any I've come across in fantasy before' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Fast-paced . . . much higher stakes and I flew through it . . . The ending blew the story right out of the water and opened up the whole thing to a much bigger scale' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
£18.99
Loading Spinner