Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Stars Too Fondly

An interstellar sapphic romcom for fans of Casey McQuiston and Becky Chambers
  • Author
    • Emily Hamilton
Format
Regular price £20.00
Regular price Sale price £20.00

Anticipated publication date

Jun 11, 2024

We will deliver the product within a reasonable period of time following the publication date

The publication date is an estimated date only and is subject to change.

We anticipate that the book will be published on this date. However, should the estimated publication date change for whatever reason, we will notify you within a reasonable period of time.

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • FSM
  • MHL
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
  • Published: Jun 11 2024
  • Pages: 320
  • ISBN: 9781399613767
Part space odyssey, part Sapphic romcom and all spaceship-stealing fun, Emily Hamilton's breathtaking debut is a wild tale of galaxy-spanning friendship, improbable love, and wonder as vast as the universe itself.

So, here's the thing: Cleo and her friends really, truly didn't mean to steal this spaceship.

They just wanted to know why, twenty years ago, the entire Providence crew vanished without a trace. But then the stupid dark matter engine started all on its own, and now these four twenty-somethings are en route to Proxima Centauri, unable to turn around, and being harangued by a snarky hologram that has the face and attitude of the ship's missing captain, Billie.

Cleo has dreamt of being an astronaut all her life, and Earth is kind of a lost cause at this point, so this should be one of those blessings in disguise people talk about. But as the ship gets deeper into space, the laws of physics start twisting, old mysteries start crawling back to life, and Cleo's initially combative relationship with Billie turns into something deeper and more desperate than either woman is prepared for.

Lying somewhere in the subspace between science fantasy and sapphic rom-com, The Stars Too Fondly is a soaring near-future adventure about dark matter and alternate dimensions, leaving home and finding family, and the galaxy-saving power of letting yourself love and be loved.
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Hannah Fergesen, author of The Infinite Miles
    The Stars Too Fondly is a romantic, joyful, and often poignant sci-fi romp that scratched an itch I didn't know I had. An utter delight
  • Al Hess, author of World Running Down
    The vacuum of space is anything but dark when your found family is with you. This cozy space opera is delightful and full of heart
  • Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of THE BONE MAKER
    Heartpounding, heartwarming, and flat-out fantastic, this book is as brilliant and beautiful as the stars! I laughed, I cried, I cheered -- I absolutely loved it! A new favourite
  • Jessie Mihalik, author of Hunt the Stars
    The Stars Too Fondly is a sparkling debut filled with found family, queer joy, and a delightful romance that made me swoon. It hooked me from the start, and I couldn't put it down as I rooted for Cleo to find her way home-both literally and figuratively. I adored every word, and I can't wait to see what Emily Hamilton writes next!
  • K.B. Wagers, author of A Pale Light in the Black
    A perfect hope-punk science fantasy that reminds me of Doctor Who in all the best ways. The Stars Too Fondly is magnificent in its spaceship stealing adventure and twisty plot. Where Emily Hamilton excels is the bonds between friends and loved ones that stretch between light-years and dimensions with the comfort of a weighted blanket. It is an achingly beautiful and hilariously funny debut.
  • Amelia Possanza
    The fate of the world rests in the hands of a ragtag group of queers stuck on a spaceship bound for Proxima Centauri. Even though they live in the future, their concerns are all too familiar: astrology, quoting Mary Oliver, watching The Watermelon Woman, and processing their feelings. Emily Hamilton's debut is as addictive as it is funny, and as interstellar as it is human.