Skip to product information
1 of 1

We Are The Dead

The bone shattering epic fantasy thriller
  • Author
    • Mike Shackle
Format
Regular price £10.99
Regular price Sale price £10.99

Not available for shipping to the following countries:

  • ASM
  • CAN
  • GUM
  • MNP
  • UMI
  • PHL
  • PRI
  • USA
  • VIR
  • Published: Mar 05 2020
  • Pages: 496
  • 196 x 130mm
  • ISBN: 9781473225220

Dive into an epic fantasy full of crunching revolutionary action, twisted magic, and hard choices in dark times.



The war is over. The enemy won.


Jia's people learned the hard way that there are no second chances. The Egril, their ancient enemy, struck with magic so devastating that Jia's armies were wiped out. Now terror reigns in the streets, and friend turns on friend just to live another day.

Somehow Tinnstra - a deserter, a failure, nothing but a coward - survived. She wants no more than to hide from the chaos.

But dragged into a desperate plot to retake Jia, surrounded by people willing to do anything to win the fight, this time Tinnstra will need to do more than hide.

If Jia is to get a second chance after all, this time she will need to be a hero.

With all the grit of Joe Abercrombie, Mark Lawrence and Ed McDonald, this is a debut epic fantasy with the sharpest of edges.

* * * * * * * * * *


Readers can't put down We Are the Dead:

'The next Game of Thrones' Glen Cook, author of The Black Company

'Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell' Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

'A powerful debut' Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion

'So much bloodshed and actions, Shackle's debut is fast-paced, grim, and unputdownable' Novel Notions

'This is a fantastic story that I think everyone would enjoy. Every aspect, from prose to characters to plot is just superbly crafted' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Utterly gripping, original fantasy that really must be counted amongst the best in the genre' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'If you are looking for a fantasy read with phenomenal magic, battle scenes that are so vividly described that you experience them through all of your senses, villains who are entirely despicable, and a compelling story filled with crushing heartbreak and glorious redemption, then you need to pick up WE ARE THE DEAD right now' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'A fantastic tale of rebellion against an occupying force . . . I really loved how this one all pulled together, and seeing the rebellion from different viewpoints was a real treat' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'This is a fast paced and intense story that never lets up in its brutality and dark environment' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'From start to finish this will keep you on the edge of your seat . . . This is an outstanding debut, you don't want to miss it' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

THE LAST WAR
Book One: We Are the Dead
Book Two: A Fool's Hope
Book Three: Until the Last
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion
    Hooked from page one, We Are the Dead rattles along with the pace of a runaway bullet train. Original, engaging, flawed but very-human characters draw us into a world rent by war, a world of brutal occupation, tarnished honour and devastating magics. This is a powerful debut and Shackle is an author to watch
  • The Book Bag
    A masterpiece of a story about hope, resistance and fellowship
  • Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones
    Like Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell . . . Absolutely splendid. Shackle has come up with something really special here
  • Glen Cook, author of The Black Company
    Likely the next Game of Thrones, and the best book I've read in several years. Erikson, Martin and Rothfuss are going to have to shove over and make room at the bar . . . I can't think how to tone down my enthusiasm
  • SFX MAGAZINE
    An adventure that's rich in darkness and bloodshed.
  • SF Book
    We Are the Dead is a fantasy novel that is able to blend the modern trends of dark fantasy with the magical styles of the past
  • Grimdark Magazine
    We Are the Dead is a staggering, marvellous and gripping fantasy debut
  • Tom Lloyd, author of Stranger of Tempest
    A barnstorming book of ordinary people dealing with extraordinary circumstances - great fun and very entertaining
  • Mark Stay, author of The End of Magic
    Gripping, grim and glorious
  • Fantasy Hive
    Fans of Joe Abercrombie and R.F. Kuang are sure to find something to love here
  • Where There's Ink There's Paper
    An utter masterpiece
  • Always Trust in Books
    A brutal showstopper of a novel
  • Morning Star
    This is a good fun resistance story, featuring thoroughly horrible, and believable, occupiers
  • Tom Lloyd, author of Stranger of Tempest
    A barnstorming book of ordinary people dealing with extraordinary circumstances - great fun and very entertaining
  • Civilian Reader
    One of the best fantasy debuts in years
  • Brian Naslund, author of Blood of an Exile
    We Are the Dead is awesome. Memorable characters. One of the most sadistic villains I've ever encountered. Tightly woven action scenes that feel like something you'd see in a Micheal Mann film. I was gripped and loving it the entire time
  • Cameron Johnston, author of The Traitor God
    An easy 5 stars from me . . . The tension ratchets up nicely as the best laid plans fall apart and people struggle to survive. The world building and characters fit together flawlessly
  • Under the Radar SFF Books
    You can't write a debut novel much better than this
  • Starlit Book
    From start to finish this will keep you on the edge of your seat. This is an outstanding debut, you don't want to miss it.
  • Jeremy Szal, author of Stormblood
    A fantastic, enthralling debut. Imagine if Akira Kuworasawa and Joe Abercrombie wrote a fantasy thriller with a pace that moves at the speed of light
  • Justin Call, author of Master of Sorrows
    A fantastic story with unique characters that draw you in and don't let you go
  • Jack's Bedtime Reading
    A superb opening novel to The Last War series that takes you on a break-neck speed ride of plot twists, bloody battles and pain
  • Nick Martell, author of Kingdom of Liars
    Dark, brutal, wonderful
  • Luke Skull
    One of the best debuts I've read in ages. Original grimdark fantasy, wonderfully paced